2012 Billabong SA Champs

Billabong SA Champs 2012 – Photo: Gero Lilleike

Words and Photo’s by Gero Lilleike

I had the pleasure of watching a few heats on Day 3 of the Billabong SA Champs which took place at Long Beach, Kommetjie, Cape Town. Apart from the mostly gloomy weather, it was a great experience and it’s always inspiring to watch our local talent doing what they do best, shred and rip and shred some more.

In my opinion, the waves weren’t the greatest and the surfers had a tough time picking the right waves to get the scores. Even though conditions weren’t ideal, the competitors still managed to put on a good show for the supporters and judges on the beach with some powerful maneuvers and aerial assaults. All the surfers seemed to be surfing well considering the conditions and standout surfing  performances included Nikita Robb, Klee Strachan, Dan Redman, Beyrick De Vries, Chad Du Toit, Greg Emslie and Mikey February.

Billabong SA Champs 2012 – Photo: Gero Lilleike

On the fourth and final day the competition moved location to nearby Misty Cliffs which apparently offered nice, clean 3-4 ft surf for the competitors to tear apart. It was all business in the Misty Cliffs boardroom and the day was packed with big hacks, aerials and the odd barrel, or two. Here are the final results for the 2012 Billabong SA Champs:

U20 Girls

1. Heidi Palmboom (KZNC) / SA Champ

2. Tanika Hoffman (WP)

3. Emma Smith (EP)

4. Nikita Kekana (SKZN)

U20 Boys

1. Mikey February (WP) / SA Champ

2. Dylan Lightfoot (EP)

3. Jarred Veldhuis (EP)

4. Steven Sawyer (EP)

Open Girls

1. Nikita Robb (Bor) / SA Champ

2. Chantelle Rautenbach (Bol)

3. Tarryn Chudleigh (WP)

4. Krystal Tavenor (Bol)

Open Mens

1. Casey Grant (SKZN) / SA Champ

2. Dan Redman (KZNC)

3. Beyrick De Vries (KZNC)

4. Greg Emslie (Bor)

VonZipper Air Show
– Diran Zakarian (Bol)

Kustom Kustomized Maneuver – Jared Veldhuis (WP)

DaKine Highest Heat Score Award – Dan Redman (KZNC)

ZigZag Blowing Up Award – Max Armstrong (WP)

BuchuLife Performance Award – Nikita Kekana (SKZN)

Final Team Placings:

1. WP – 43950
2. KZNC – 38782
3. EP – 37418
4. BOR – 36840
5. BOL – 35528
6. SKZN – 33990
7. SC – 24660
8. Zul – 19736
9. GSA – 10

Check out the highlight photo’s of the day at www.facebook.com/Billabong.South.Africa or http://billabongsachamps.co.za/. Video highlights can be found at https://vimeo.com/user4632157

Billabong SA Champs 2012 – Photo: Gero Lilleike

2012 Billabong XXL Global Big Wave Awards

The winners of the 2012 Billabong XXL Big Wave Awards, sponsored by Monster Energy, were announced yesterday in Anaheim, California. The categories for the Billabong XXL Big Wave Awards include the Monster Tube Award, Monster Paddle In Award, XXL Biggest Wave Award, Verizon Wipeout of the Year Award, Surfline Mens Performance Award, Billabong Girls Performance Award and the ultimate Ride of the Year Award.

Garret McNamara, Nathan Fletcher, Dave Wassel and Maya Gabeira have dominated the Billabong XXL Global Big Waves Awards. The winner in each category are as follows.

XXL Biggest Wave Award

Garret McNamara – Praia do Norte, Portugal

2012 Billabong XXL Biggest Wave Award – Garret McNamara – Praia do Norte, Portugal. Photo: Wilson Riberio

Ride of the Year Award

Nathan Fletcher – Teahupoo, Tahiti


Monster Tube Award

Nathan Fletcher – Teahupoo, Tahiti

Nathan Fletcher, Billabong XXL Biggest Tube Award-Teahupoo, Tahiti. Photo: Brian Bielmann



Monster Paddle In Award

Dave Wassel – Jaws / Peahi, Maui

Dave Wassel, Billabong XXL Paddle In Award, Jaws, Peahi, Maui Photo: Frank Berthuot


Verizon Wipeout of the Year Award

Garret McNamara – Jaws, Peahi, Maui

Surfline Mens Performance Award

Nathan Fletcher – San Clemente, CA

Billabong Girls Performance Award

Maya Gabeira – Teahupoo, Tahiti